Gloria Therese

My grandmother, in handsewn jumpsuit, and her son–my father–circa 1960.

 

It is the heart of October and I have been away for too long. September was ushered in with wedding plans and clothes and fittings and the endless mysteries of mineral makeup. I never thought I’d be so primped and prodded and spruced but then I never thought I’d be asked to be a bridesmaid in the Catholic-Goan union of two dear friends. It was delightful. I also got fantastically sick a few times, and then I learned of the death of my grandmother, Gloria Therese Hauf.

I’ve seen a lot of things in the last many weeks, bits of wildernesses and brightness, the first hushed wearinesses of autumn and now the crisp cold mornings of it, the undressing trees beside the golden garbed. But they all pale in comparison to the remembrances and great love that I hold for this woman whom I was blessed to have for twenty-nine years of life, who graced this world for 87.

I was going to just write about her for a while, but I’m not ready for sentences yet, only snapshots: her backyard raspberries crowning my fingers, baking cookies in the late morning, listening to the bread machine beat the stuff of ascension into flour. I remember her aprons, her hands driving clothespins. The shade cast by the cherry tree, her poppies beside the backdoor. Picnics. The strength of her arms around me. The stitches of all the clothes she sewed and knit to cover me.

My grandmother was and is and always will be one of the greatest blessings bestowed upon my life.

Thanks for waiting until now and for waiting a little while more, too, while I get the blog back up and running in the coming days. For now I don’t know how to end an entry of someone so utmost, so endless, so distant; so I’ll do it with a portrait.

 

gloria

11 responses

  1. I have had the privilege of knowing her beautiful Grandmother and adore how wonderful she looked in the picture above. My mother and her grandmother were great friends and spent a few weeks this year a few doors away from each other in the nursing home. Now six months or so later they are both in heaven.

    • Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Rosi. It was wonderful to meet you at the funeral. Your mom sounds wonderful; I wish I’d gotten a chance to meet her as well.

  2. Thank you for sharing some precious memories of your beautiful grandmother. She must have touched many lives with her warmth and kind spirit…she has passed this legacy on through you and most likely others who were close to her. A blessing for all who knew and loved her. Your portrayal of Gloria conveys a celebration of her life , well lived…reminds me of the familiar reminder to live, love and laugh…You are always in my thoughts and prayers…peace and love.

    • Thank you for your wonderfully loving, kind words. It is the healthiest take away–that desire to live more sweetly and fully in memory of the passionate, thoughtful, dear ones we’ve lost. I’m grateful for the reminder…the veils of grief can make that outlook challenging to keep close.

  3. This is beautiful and your love for her and her love for you and what she meant to you radiates through this. I look forward to hearing more about her. So much love to you Jenny.

What do you think?

